Skip to content

cloud dreams

July 20, 2010

It’s been almost one year since I stumbled into creating my first visual poem (VisPo). And it’s been more fun and absorbing than I ever dreamed, a creative way to explore problems and facets of life that I, as a writer, formerly approached almost exclusively with words. Tapping into the speech of images in VisPo brings a whole new dimension to being able to see and understand. It’s also taught me about respecting process–about those little gleams of insight that come by taking things one step at a time, being open to surprise–and throwing the plan out the window when the work wants to go another direction.

“Cloud Dreams” was one of the most fun to create recently (although maybe that has to do with having a program that’s not continually crashing…). I’m happy that it (almost) marks the anniversary.

cloud dreams

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 11:49 am

    This one reached out and grabbed me through the google reader. I wasn’t prepared, seeing the large version, to have the eyes coming forward from a shape like a rear-view mirror. I like the way you balanced it with the blue and red.

    • July 23, 2010 12:16 pm

      You just made me smile. So big. Thanks, Mark. I was worried about the rear-view mirror effect (because of the slight distortion), especially if people didn’t “get” it (which isn’t the case here). In the VisPo’s construction the concept arose organically, one of those serendipitous moments for which I’m very grateful. Thanks also for noticing the blue and red. I had fun playing with that.

  2. July 22, 2010 11:45 pm

    All kinds of things going on. I could look at it for hours. I like the “rear-view mirror” as Mark calls it. The shape leads the eyes across the page and the top and bottom both pull back around. Good movement.

    • July 23, 2010 12:18 pm

      Thanks, David. 🙂 You also just made me smile very widely. I’m glad the movement worked. I had wanted that to be the case in this piece. Still eager to see some of your stuff, btw. 😀

Leave a Reply

