Skip to content

Grapefruit

June 22, 2010

I have a new VisPo, the text created a little differently. I composed it by overlaying the text from a receipt (for a meal I’d had at a diner) with text from Stéphane Mallarmé’s “Memesis” from Divagations (the book in which I’d later found the receipt)—then erasing words until I had the poem I wanted. The design/images have various inspirations, most from my current reading, especially several works by Jacques Derrida, The Bauhaus Group by Nicholas Fox Weber, and Newspaper Blackout by Austin Kleon.

Grapefruit

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 10:05 pm

    This one works best large. I wasn’t sure about it until I clicked for the big image then the impact of the texture hit me. Interesting method to create the poem. The process is almost an art independent of the result.

    • June 26, 2010 8:57 am

      I would agree with you here. This is one of the hard things about posting VisPo on the web. On WP, this is the largest size I can post and not obscure the column on my right (tags, blogroll, etc.). But even if I didn’t have that restriction, I need to try to fit a VisPo onto a computer screen without a person having to scroll down (usually). For this particular one, I found myself trying to make the texture visible at the smaller WP size–but the result was to ruin the larger versions, the ones that form the basis for printing and whose texture shows up even in smaller sizes when printed (I actually compose by viewing the VisPo at many sizes throughout the process). So it’s a compromise when I post it here. The best I can do is make it possible to see a larger version (which you have to DOUBLE click to see, which isn’t cool. I probably should give directions that clicking once won’t give you but a slightly larger image). There are places I’m allowed to post larger, but sometimes the quality of the image is poorer than the Flickr image that forms the basis here. Artwalk’s images are frequently of lesser quality, but the images are larger. I now have RedBubble, which is usually on par with Flickr, but I can’t post an image here from there. Sigh.

      Long answer to you comment. Lol. It’s frustrating, especially since I love texture. But it’s the best I have. Maybe a web person would know how to help me, but it seems a limitation based in the medium itself. (But maybe that in and of itself makes a point about representation, memesis, repetition.)

      Thanks for the comment about process. I feel the same way. It’s in the “found” poem tradition, although the way I did it and what I chose to use are influenced from many quarters (including “theory”–philosophical and literary).

      Thanks for your comment, David. Good to “see” you again. 🙂

      • June 26, 2010 12:51 pm

        Yes, only so much we can do with the medium. Two versions seems like the way to go and working best you can. Some browsers auto-scale large images, which could destroy the impact. I would imagine a 300 dpi print would look nice.

Leave a Reply

