Skip to content

there is no outside

April 26, 2010

What is ‘side’?

there is no outside

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 1:09 pm

    Side – if one would take your question as having a literal component, not only rhetorical: To interpret the question, I think it depends on context.

    In my opinion:
    Discriminating Mind* -> Side of political division
    Physical, concrete form -> Side of a coin
    Convention of a game -> Side of a chessboard

    * Translation of a concept represented in the texts of some old Buddhist teachers. I’ve only seen the translation, myself.

    I’m on the side of physical, concrete forms, if it comes to determining “sides” ><

  2. April 28, 2010 2:34 pm

    I like these listings of different ways in which we use the word “side.” It’s a fascinating concept, one we use to divide, not always in an nonviolent manner…It does depend on context…and even within context it takes on a different feel depending on tone…

    • April 28, 2010 7:53 pm

      I think I was of something of a headstrong mind, when I wrote that. My apologies, if I may have seemed didactic.

      I believe that there is a side of mindful no-sidedness – not of complacency, not of mindlessness, and not of any special knowledge – that can be reached, I believe, in seeing to the true nature of discriminating mind, represented in what the old Buddhist teachers taught of. I say, old Buddhist teachers, given as I am completely unawares of how it may have been conveyed, since then.

      Perhaps I’m stepping up on a soapbox, there. I feel strongly, about it, and rarely have had an opportunity to discuss it, that I was aware of.

      I like how the question you’ve made with your VisPo, here – in my own interpretation, at least – how it highlights the very nature of “sidedenss” (as the viewer may see it) simply by drawing it into question. I like how your VisPos can be challenging for the viewer to interpret, too πŸ™‚

  3. April 28, 2010 8:24 pm

    I certainly didn’t think you came off as didactic. I don’t know a lot about Buddhism, although I’ve practiced meditation and “mindfulness” (Zen-influenced). I think I get what you’re after, at least in a sense, though…This VisPo for me personally was in dialogue with some ideas within Western philosophy (I was reading interviews with Derrida in *Positions* when I created it). I’ve been thinking through some things in relation to language for quite a while and the poem plays with some concepts that have been rolling around in my head–and with my disagreement with how language is viewed by many that I’ve read. But I mean for my poems to be ambiguous so that readers make of them what they want. My poems are meant to be questions, not answers.

  4. April 29, 2010 2:39 am

    can we llink exchange?

  5. April 30, 2010 3:54 pm

    Beautiful! Poems and photos… they’re both art and go amazingly together! You made that even more amazing πŸ™‚

    • May 3, 2010 5:55 pm

      Aww, thanks, Estrella!! I really enjoyed working with a couple of photographs (and using them as such) on this one.

  6. May 1, 2010 5:20 pm

    What an amazing thought provoking photo and poem? I love your question – what is side?

  7. August 9, 2010 1:37 pm

    Just beautiful! Used to work in a windowless room. This visual poetry piece would have been perfect over my desk. πŸ™‚

    • August 11, 2010 12:11 pm

      Thanks, Marisa. I’d never thought about that use for it. Goodness, I think I would go nuts in a windowless room! Hope all is well with you. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

