Skip to content

anticipate

April 21, 2010

Still fascinated by Italian philosopher Giorgio Agamben’s Language and Death: The Place of Negativity. This VisPo is inspired by “The First Day” of the seminar, which looks at the relationship between Heidegger’s understanding of Dasein and death. I have a feeling I might end up with a whole series of Agamben-inspired Vispos…

anticipate

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 9:47 am

    Ah, yes. The authentic self… discovered in profound moments of unique self-recognition.

    Beautiful VisPo. You certainly engage us in your craft!

  2. April 21, 2010 2:14 pm

    Thanks, Marisa!! I’m becoming more and more interested in those profound moments and their nature (especially whether they really are “founded” on a type of negativity, as some would claim).

  3. April 22, 2010 8:37 am

    The duality of being / not being, I believe I’ve seen it represented in the works of some old Buddhist scholars. I wish I could come up with a single reference, offhand, to that assertion of mine, though. If there’s anywhere I’ve picked it up from, I think it must be in the writings of Bassui, as collected in the book, Mud and Water.

    The being / not being duality is something that, I believe, is addressed in Zazen – in an old sense of the term, Zazen, referring not only to sitting-meditation of Dogen and other Dhamara heirs, but more to a state of mind, I believe.

    To comment, further, as if in caution to the reader: I’m not sure if Dharma mind can be deconstructed, nor Kensho given a scientific recipe. I believe that these words represent concepts that have some substantial form, beyond the deep language of things.

    • April 23, 2010 6:55 am

      Interesting. I’d not thought of the comparison to Buddhism, although it seems a natural one to make.

  4. April 22, 2010 3:09 pm

    Great work, windspiritgirl 🙂

    marinela x

Leave a Reply

