Skip to content

Lost

April 15, 2010

I hadn’t planned to do a VisPo this week, but this one came to me today when I decided to become more intentionally philosophical in some of my artwork. I’ve always been fascinated by the number zero and the concept of nothingness. I especially like to think of “nothing/ness” in relation to language. Italian philosopher Giorgio Agamben’s Language and Death: The Place of Negativity is a fascinating exploration of that relationship. This poem is inspired by Agamben and…nothingness.

Lost

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Morgan permalink
    April 15, 2010 11:50 pm

    That’s really awesome!

  2. April 16, 2010 7:10 am

    Love the interplay of language and numbers, and the influence of the German thinkers. Very cool. Peace, Linda

    • April 16, 2010 10:29 am

      When you put it that way, it sounds like heaven. Mixing these things is something I do naturally and it’s nice to start reflecting that in my work. 😉

  3. lauraeno permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:11 am

    Wonderful! I’ve often thought about negative space as well.

Leave a Reply

