Skip to content

Paradise Gardens through the Window

April 12, 2010

Saturday a friend and I took a road trip to folk artist Howard Finster’s Paradise Gardens in Summerville, GA. These are some photos I took there–my experience, framed by windows. They’re in contrast to his amazingly creative (and slightly trippy) gardens–but inspired by his work. The Gardens and its buildings (especially the wonderful World’s Folk Art Chapel) need support both to restore and preserve the legacy of ย Finster’s dynamic and original work. For more info, click here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 11:31 am

    Lovely photos, great post ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s interesting how something that’s old and “wrinkled” can be so beautiful looking through camera lenses. My favorite is the last photo of the puddle of sun on the floorboard.

  2. April 21, 2010 8:12 pm

    Thanks, Estrella! I love that one, too. And I LOVE how old and wrinkled–or even trash!–can be made beautiful in art.

  3. April 21, 2010 10:18 pm

    Intriguing photos – well framed, all. Are those old adding-machines, or perhaps old cash registers, the keyed things piled up behind that one window, I wonder.

    Love the break in the screen, with (I presume) more of the gardens visible beyond.

    The beauty of the orthogonal ๐Ÿ™‚

    • April 23, 2010 7:01 am

      Yes, the beauty of the orthogonal. Love the way you put that. I think they’re adding machines and old cash registers. I have a pic of an old cash register from the same window that I’ve not included in these. I’ve just started doing photography and I love it. It’s so much fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • April 23, 2010 4:55 pm

        It is fun, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

        Not to sound whatsoever pushy, but since you mention that you’ve just started with the art/craft of this art, I would like to suggest, as in terms of general interest: I’ve found, from my own experience, that a simple course (e.g college or university) in photography (maybe with some darkroom time…) can be really enriching about the art and the craft of it – and it can be especially informative, on the many technical sides, one could say technical underpinnings, of photography, as an art.

        Besides that, there’s the general quality of confidence in the broader art, which I think I was able to find, more, myself, after taking some courses about at least black and white photography, and I’m glad that I did. Now, of course, I could wish that I was still living close to that community college… but it was what it was, and it was some fun, indeed.

        Come to think of it, I don’t know if I’d quite realized how much fun it was, in that course, and browsing through the library – I think I was taking a lot for granted, still, even then, but … well, I guess that’s more personal than would make for usual discourse, though. I guess I found some way to appreciate it, anyway, my time at that college.

        Oh I see that I’m so much less experimental with photography, today – maybe I’ve developed something of an “old dog” syndrome ๐Ÿ˜‰ Well, it was nice to be reminded of that, anyway.

        To be simply honest, I think you have a unique eye for photography and visual arts, and I too enjoy viewing your work. I mean to say, then, in a simple way, Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

