Skip to content

Easter on the Farm, 2010

April 5, 2010

My grandparents’ farm in NC was a haven for me when I was growing up. Summers there were magical; it was one of the few places I could truly be myself. As an adult, it’s still good to go back and visit the familiar landscape–so much the same, yet changed. Here are photographs taken from the farm and surrounding area Easter Sunday.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 10:41 pm

    Wow. Just wow.

    You took all these photos?

    You are one multi-talented chicola. Peace…

  2. April 5, 2010 10:46 pm

    hahaha! I have a really great camera. I love to take photographs, though, because it’s fun… 🙂

  3. April 5, 2010 10:46 pm

    I can see why this place means so much to you.

    All gorgeous pictures…loved them, especially the last one!

  4. April 5, 2010 11:02 pm

    Thanks, Marisa. It’s beautiful year-round, but the bright, sunny day really showed off the spring beauty. (And the sunset Sunday was just magnificent!)

  5. April 6, 2010 3:55 am

    Some day, when I don’t have to work any more (is that possible these days?), I’d like to buy a quiet plot of land, plant a few chickens, just be able to go out and pluck a potato straight from the tree whenever I want. Ahhh, that’d be the life.

    Perfect cover for my underground lair.

    • April 6, 2010 7:21 pm

      NICE. Although I’m worried that planting chickens might raise some eyebrows (are they dead or alive, btw?), so be discrete to hide your lair. 😉 And with that magic, pulling potatoes from trees…Good to hear from you, Anton. 🙂

  6. April 6, 2010 7:17 am

    How wonderful, Melissa! I can just visualize you as a mini-bee buzzing around there care free. Thank you for sharing.

    • April 6, 2010 7:22 pm

      I think I DID feel like a bee. And I got a photo of two bees on flowers, but didn’t like it enough to post…

  7. lauraeno permalink
    April 6, 2010 8:28 am

    Gorgeous photos! I’d love to live there…

    • April 6, 2010 7:23 pm

      It IS gorgeous, although it can be really rough if you have allergies! I miss going there more often…

  8. April 15, 2010 9:05 pm

    what lovely pics! yea for dandelions!

Leave a Reply

