Skip to content

Thank you to Visual Myth Weaver: Caroline Nevin

March 12, 2010

Bee Kin (intelligence apis proprietus)

Earlier today, Caroline Nevin, an incredible visual artist, told me, “I will have a surprise for you later…” I couldn’t have guessed how amazing that surprise would be–this drawing, “Bee Kin,” inspired in part by my kinship with bees (My name, Melissa, is from Greek and can mean “bee,” “honey bee,” or “honey”). “Bee Kin” is part of her “Fancy Heads” series, in which she explores the ethereal manifestations of the feminine. Caroline weaves myths with her art, and here she’s helped me to explore my own personal myth by providing a visual portal into a larger world of symbolic meaning, a place where language is both personal and shared with others.

Check out Caroline’s work here: Caroline Nevin: Visual Myth Weaver

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 2:51 pm

    I love it! what an excellent inspiration! I’m a fan of Caroline too of course!

    • March 13, 2010 6:12 pm

      Thank you Darren, I am a fan of your work as well, but you know that. 😀

  2. March 13, 2010 2:55 am

    She’s incredible, isn’t she?! 😀

    • March 13, 2010 6:26 pm

      Thank you so much for this blog post! I use symbolism and metaphor consistently in a way I think can generate an internal reflection for myself and the viewer, not to mention the person represented in the painting/drawing. After you told me the meaning of your name it conjured up many ideas for me, such as worker bees in action, ultimately acting together to nurture the queen bee. I see your ideas and actions on par with this idea through the nurturing of your Self you become a beacon then feeding the community at large with your knowledge which in turn is feeding that which watches over us, guides us and who we strive to be (kin to a bee!). Call her mother earth, a goddess, the universe or the queen bee; we are feeding her when we actualize the Self and serve the greater good. I’m so pleased you like what I’ve created. Enjoy.

      Caroline

  3. March 17, 2010 2:07 am

    This is divine.

    • March 24, 2010 11:05 pm

      Thank you so much! I am so glad this is being enjoyed. Of course I had a greatly inspirational subject to help me 😀

  4. March 24, 2010 11:07 pm

    By the way, this is also available in a greeting card form and print form if anyone should want one of their very own: http://www.redbubble.com/people/bluerubies/art/4863927-1-bee-kin

Trackbacks

  1. I Sing The Season Of Bees « Windspirit Girl
  2. No.81 #draw365 “The Queen Bee” « The Art Salon of Caroline Nevin

Leave a Reply

