Skip to content

Honest Scrap and Lesa’s Bald-Faced Liar “Creative Writer” Award

February 27, 2010



Telling the truth. Telling a lie. Sometimes they are the same. And I am honored to be given two awards by two writers I respect, ones who are very, very good at telling true lies. Thank you, Deanna, at The Other Side of Deanna for Lesa’s Bald-Faced Liar “Creative Writer” award. And thank you, Linda, at LeftBrainWrite, for the Honest Scrap award. I apologize to both of you for being so late to post these. It doesn’t mean I feel any less excited and humbled to be recognized!

These awards came within a day of each other, and since both have to do with veracity, I’m taking Linda’s suggestion and combining them. For the Bald-Faced Liar award, I’m supposed to tell up to six outrageous lies about myself and at least one outrageous truth—or the opposite: tell up to six outrageous truths and one outrageous lie. For Honest Scrap, I’m supposed to share ten things about myself. So–I’m mixing it up a little and telling five true and five untrue things about myself.  You can judge if they’re outrageous–and just which ones are indeed, true.

1. Terrified that I would get a ticket, I outran a cop when I was sixteen years old. Parents, beware of giving your teenagers turbo-charged sports cars.

2. In the same vein as above, I won three games of chicken played on good ole Augusta Hwy my senior year in high school. My boyfriend rode in the passenger seat.

3. I rescued four people as a lifeguard. The last was unconscious, requiring mouth-to mouth.  He hit his head on the high dive, then on the concrete edge on the way down. He was rushed to the hospital, where it was confirmed he had a concussion. He actually got back on the high dive, although many weeks later.

4. I finished in the top twelve of the Miss Teen America Pageant my freshman year in college and have been trying to live it down ever since (even though they did actually care about intelligence). The coolest part? Missing two weeks of school while having fun in Hawaii.

5. The forbidden beckons me. I will break into a press box, steal a motor boat for a night (um…more than once), or hide out in a state park simply for the thrill. (Not so funny when you get stuck in the park because the rangers are (unknowingly) blocking your path to your secret exit–and your new boyfriend is with you. It’s his first time home to meet the folks…)

6. I was a chemical engineering major in college and was only able to change to being an English major after a huge blowout with my dad, who wanted me to be an engineer (like he was). After I made the change, one of the absolute geekiest guys in our class, inspired by my actions, revealed his inner passion for poetry and also became an English major. He’s now a published poet with two books. (I’m not jealous or anything…)

7. I dated a guy whose sister was murdered by a serial killer. The case was featured in a major profiler’s autobiography. Seen Silence of the Lambs? FBI agent Starling’s character is in part based upon his experiences as a profiler.

8. My best friend and I threw a beach party in the reflection pool at my college. We filled the pool with floaties and invited our entire hall to meet us at 1 a.m. Only five came, but the guys coming out of the computer lab really appreciated our bikinis that night…It wasn’t until later that we found out we could’ve been expelled for doing it.

9. I met an amazingly smart, incredibly good-looking, and interested-in-me boy while visiting my sister in college. There was definitely a connection. I had a boyfriend, so nothing could happen, but it still stunned me when I learned the next day he’d died that morning. On his way to church, he’d stopped to help a motorist parked on an overpass. Another car came along and swerved towards them. It’s unclear if he jumped or was hit by the car and knocked onto the road below.

10. I’d set foot on every single continent before I ever visited New York City. (Thank God that’s been rectified now.)

So those are my lies, my truths…Part of accepting these awards is honor others.

I’m awarding Lesa’s Bald-Faced Liar “Creative Writer” award to

Linda at LeftBrainWrite
Anton at The Black Dogs of Despair Reading Room
David at Writing for Torre
Maria at Mazzz in Leeds
Marc at Sulci Collective
Karen at Miscellaneous Yammerings
Marisa at Out of Order Alice

Honest Scrap goes to:

Deanna at The Other Side of Deanna
Simon at Skycycler
Estrella at Life’s a Stage

I know I confused things by fusing these awards, but there are instructions for each individually.

For Lesa’s Bald-Faced Liar “Creative Writer” award,

As acceptance for this award, the following must be met:

1. Thank the person who gave this to you.
2. Copy the logo and place it on your blog.
3. Link to the person who nominated you.
4. Tell up to six outrageous lies about yourself, and at least one outrageous truth, or six outrageous truths and one outrageous lie.
5. Nominate seven “Creative Writers” who might have fun coming up with outrageous lies.
6. Post links to the seven blogs you nominate.
7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs letting them know you nominated them.

For Honest Scrap, share ten things about yourself and pass the award along.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 1:32 am

    Congrats!
    Congrats on your awards! I don’t think I’ll hazard a guess on which 5 are true because they’re all so entertaining. 🙂

  2. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 2:08 am

    http://miscellaneousyammering.blogspot.com/2010/02/oh-what-tangled-web-we-weave.html
    Wow! I travelled back IN TIME to do this for you! How wild is THAT! I bet none of your other nominees go to such lengths. *preens a bit*
    The link to my 10 things is in the subject line.
    Thank you for bestowing such a lovely award upon my time trotting head.
    Hugs!!!
    Karen :0)

  3. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 2:11 am

    Karen from mentor http://miscellaneousyammering.blogspot.com/ said:
    If only one can be true…I pick #8. But they all sound so convincing that you may have lied about lying at all.
    :0)

  4. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 2:43 am

    Award
    Thank you so much for this Award! Yes, as you know, I have received one before but that does not diminish my appreciation. So proud that you think I’m a bald-faced liar, hee-hee.
    Now as for you, hmmm. I believe #4 is your truth, because you are smart as well as beautiful!

  5. February 28, 2010 2:16 pm

    For Laura, Karen, Marisa
    Laura–thank you!
    Karen–indeed, I do feel honored. you are the first to have time-traveled for me. 🙂 you may be the only one with that ability… 😉 as for the answers, you can pick 5 of them b/c I did my own thing using the two awards. But, I warn you, you may just be close to the truth about my lying about lying… 😉 close being relative from time to time…
    Marisa–you’re welcome. and–aww, thanks. i’m not revealing which are true and which aren’t yet (or am i ever? i saw that some never have!)…

  6. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 2:30 pm

    Congrats & thank you!
    Congraulations Melissa, you are so deserving of these awards, and thank you very much for the honest scrap award! It will probably take me a few days to come up with more things some don’t already know about me, (would be so much easier to lie, but I’ve already done that). 🙂
    I believe there’s some truth to all your revelations, and wow! What revelations they are! I think you’ve mixed a tiny lie in most of them – for instance, it’s easy to believe you finished in the top twelve of the Miss Teen America pageant, but maybe you spent those two weeks in Jamaica, instead of Hawaii? Hmmm, wonder how long you’ll wait to tell us the truth. 🙂
    Thank you and congratulations again!

    • Anonymous permalink
      February 28, 2010 2:32 pm

      Re: Congrats & thank you! – OOPS!
      I always forget to put my ID in when I comment here, don’t know why – sorry about that – I’ts me, Deanna! 🙂

      • Anonymous permalink
        February 28, 2010 8:31 pm

        Re: Congrats & thank you! – OOPS!
        I just did that myself with comment #9, so don’t worry, you’re not the only one 😛

    • March 2, 2010 3:11 am

      Re: Congrats & thank you!
      You’re right. There are some lies that are close to the truth–but not quite. And some that are just B.S., period. I don’t know about when to reveal which are which. (Am I supposed to do that? I think I have to make you reveal the truth about those table dances, then…) I probably will say which is which at some point…

  7. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 6:54 pm

    @mazzz_in_Leeds says…
    haha! Thanks so much, and I love your lie/truths 😀
    I’m struggling to figure out which are or aren’t true, but will echo what Laura said 🙂

  8. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 8:27 pm

    Congrats!
    Congrats on your awards!
    And also thank you for forwarding the Honest Scrap award to me, I have a post in mind already where I can incorporate this 🙂
    Oh, and thanks for reminding me with this, to go and tell people which one was my truth in the Lesa award I posted not so long ago 😛

  9. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 8:29 pm

    Congrats!
    Congrats on your awards!
    And also thank you for forwarding the Honest Scrap award to me, I have a post in mind already where I can incorporate this 🙂
    Oh, and thanks for reminding me with this, to go and tell people which one was my truth in the Lesa award I posted not so long ago 😛

    • March 2, 2010 3:12 am

      Re: Congrats!
      Yay!! I’m so glad that you can work it into a post you already had in mind. That’s awesome.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 10:52 pm

    Congrats!
    And thank you for paying it forward! I am honored. Now gotta think up some quasi-truths as fascinating as yours.
    Hmmm… you are very convincing. I think 3,4,5,7, and 10 are your truths. Every single one of your ten could serve as most excellent stories… Peace, Linda

    • March 2, 2010 3:16 am

      Re: Congrats!
      WOW-3/5 isn’t bad. (I’m gonna have to ask you how you guessed at some point…) Glad to pay it forward. 🙂

  11. March 8, 2010 8:00 pm

    So what was true?
    I promised I would reveal which were true or not and I figure most have read this post who will read. Here we go: 1, 4, 5, 7, 9 are true.
    Close to true:
    3 happened, but I was guarding the shallow end of the pool and did not perform the actual rescue (my job in this situation: “crowd control”). I rescued 3 people as a lifeguard.
    8 One night my best friend and I were returning from a run and saw floaties in the reflection pool (to advertise some campus beach party) and spontaneously decided to play with all the pool toys and swim. In our clothes.

    • March 9, 2010 1:58 am

      Re: So what was true?
      Oh-forgot to say–it’s true we could’ve gotten expelled for playing in the reflection pool.

  12. Anonymous permalink
    March 8, 2010 8:33 pm

    WOW
    In rereading the ones that are true, I can only say…WOW…
    Well, I did get one correct (#4)
    For the rest, I would never guess that you live on the thrill/forbidden side of the street, heh!

  13. Anonymous permalink
    March 9, 2010 12:58 am

    wow
    karenfrommentor
    http://miscellaneousyammering.blogspot.com/
    says:
    Geez. You think you were just saving up experiences to write about or something?
    Thanks for setting the record straight.
    Now go on out and wrestle a bear to the ground with your bare hands so you’ll have something to regale us with for the next time….
    :0)

Leave a Reply

