Skip to content

Kreativ Blogs!

September 10, 2009

I’m incredibly excited and honored to receive a Kreative Blogger award from fellow blogger Linda at LEFTBRAINWRITE, itself named one of the top 25 writing blogs of 2009 by Editor Unleashed. (So check it out!!) Now it’s my turn to recommend 7 cool, creative blogs–and then make a list of 7 of my favorite mystery writers.

Kreativ Blogs:

Ryan Seslow @ The ART of Ryan Seslow. Ryan is a multidisciplinary artist and his blog reflects that. It’s a wide world of fascinating art (drawings, paintings, sculpture, video art)–coupled with philosophical reflections on art, the self, and the artistic process. Philosophical and artistic. Nice combination.

Laura Shovan @ Author Amok. New discovery for me. “A Frenzy of Writing, Teaching and Parenting” expresses Author Amok well. It’s a whirlwind of poetry, writing prompts/suggestions, and stories about the writing process–with real life thrown in. Witty and refreshing.

Lethe Bashar @ Blog of Innocence. Blog of Innocence is a wonderful blog full of thought-provoking articles on everything from poetry to music to philosophical and existential musings on the nature of the self (and) living in contemporary society. All streamed with marvelous art and illustrations.

Myesha @ Butterfly Pages. Intelligent, cogent, political, real. Butterfly Pages takes on some of the biggest issues of the day and also relates the joys and frustrations of a woman who works, writes, parents, and goes back to school to become a teacher.

Susan @ Color Online. Color Online focuses on books written by women of color–for adults, young adults, and children. The love of reading and books–and the love of a good discussion– is palpable on this blog even in the virtual world. I always feel like I’ve entered a collegial community when I visit. Great recommendations for the next book in the “to read” pile!

Amanda Oaks and Jenn Gibson @ Kind Over Matter. Kind Over Matter feels like home, but an enchanted one. Inspirational art, poems, quotes, and photographs abound–bewitchedly grounded by a focus on handmade art. But perhaps the most important thing is that this blog really believes that Kindness matters. I agree.

Max Blau @ The War on Pop. I love this music blog, and not just because it belongs to a fellow Atlantan who has similar musical tastes. The passion for music comes through everything written here–whether artist portraits, reports from the music industry, album and show reviews, or recommended playlists.

Mystery Writers:
Some of my choices for mystery writers and books stretch the boundaries of the genre. Mystery has not been one I’ve read very much as an adult. Maybe it’s time to head to the Mystery section of A Cappella Books when I’m in next!

As a child I LOVED the Alfred Hitchcock and theThree Investigators series (various authors)–mystery, fantasy, adventure. I also adored Agatha Christie. My favorite: And Then There Were None

As an adult, I’ve enjoyed the Art History mysteries by Iain Pears. A good one: Death and Restoration

Read recently–but bending the genre, I’d recommend:

Paul Auster Leviathan

Haruki Murakami A Wild Sheep Chase

Marisha Pessl Special Topics in Calamity Physics

Donna Tartt The Secret History

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    September 10, 2009 10:50 pm

    Thank you so much! I am so happy to hear how you feel when you’re at Color Online. Come by soon and chat. You’re missed.
    Susan

    • September 10, 2009 11:02 pm

      Aww, Susan, I miss you guys, too. 😦 A whole series of events has put me online a lot less. I’m also writing a lot less unless it’s for school. (Boo, I know–I’m trying to change this so I don’t go crazy. 😉 Don’t worry, though–I’ll be back. Of course! 😉

  2. September 10, 2009 11:23 pm

    Thank you
    Thank you for recommending the Blog of Innocence . . . it is so inspiring to see writers engaged in the topics and essays I discuss . . . and now, I will check out the other blogs you mentioned.
    Lethe

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 11, 2009 12:38 am

    Thanks for the shout-out!
    Love getting positive feedback at the end of a long day! Please stop by Author Amok tomorrow. I’m going to have some Gertrude Stein and an announcement about Poetry Out Loud posted for Poetry Friday.
    Laura

    • September 11, 2009 5:26 pm

      Re: Thanks for the shout-out!
      Glad it came at the end of a long day! I know what a difference that can make. I will definitely stop by–I love Gertrude Stein!

  4. lauraeno permalink
    September 23, 2010 7:29 am

    Congrats again! Another great award for you! But I’m looking at the date and I’m soooo confused now as this just came up in my reader. 😉

    • September 23, 2010 2:23 pm

      Thanks, Laura. And that is weird. This is from last year. I wonder if it’s because I gave it a category yesterday. I had written this post on my old blog where there wasn’t a “category” in which to put things. So-maybe because I changed the blog post (in categorization). Thanks for replying. Sorry this late one came up!

  5. lauraeno permalink
    September 23, 2010 3:11 pm

    OMG, I didn’t even notice the YEAR! I thought it was from a couple of weeks ago! How funny…

Leave a Reply

