Skip to content

Electroboy

August 28, 2009

For Poetry Friday, a visual poem inspired by Andy Behrman’s Electroboyan intense, exciting, sad, and brave memoir recounting his struggle with bipolar disorder:

[You can click on the image below to see a larger version of the poem.] 

Electroboy

Visit Poetry Friday this week at Book Aunt for a wonderful selection of poetry! 

 
16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 4:22 pm

    Very intense and unique! Love the colors too!

    • August 28, 2009 10:36 pm

      Thanks, Kelly!! I had a ton of fun creating it. The colors I played around with quite a bit before they settled with me as being “right.” πŸ™‚

  2. August 29, 2009 12:38 pm

    That is so cool! Now I am going to figure out how you did it. We ought to post more visual poems on Fridays.

    • August 31, 2009 3:08 pm

      Aww, thanks. It was so much fun! I did it by starting with a concrete/visual poem minus images (you can only see part of it now, but I like that), then worked with two images, then did layer after layer of effects, adding words, etc. I used the online service pixlr (http://www.pixlr.com) because it’s free and I’m new to doing this sort of thing and didn’t know if I should invest in something like photoshop. I’m having fun. πŸ™‚

      • September 1, 2009 9:24 am

        Thanks for giving us the link to pixlr.com! I don’t have photoshop either and I am always looking for free photo editing sites.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 30, 2009 12:34 pm

    Wow!
    Imagine my surprise when I saw this piece – – I love!
    I’d love to know more about the medium and the size and, well, thank you!
    Best,
    Andy Behrman
    electroboy@electroboy.com
    http://www.electroboy.com

    • August 31, 2009 3:19 pm

      Re: Wow!
      I think it’s MY turn to say “wow!” What an honor. (I also feel a bit of “whew! Thank god he likes it. πŸ™‚ I wish I could say that I’m this great artist who paints, does photography, and collages with tactile results, etc., but–alas–this is simply a visual poem created electronically with an imaging service (http://www.pixlr.com). The image is 423 X 283 pixels. It’s my 2nd visual poem (I’m a writer branching out a bit), and I had a blast doing it. Thank YOU for the inspiration. πŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 31, 2009 1:59 am

    Beautiful…
    Loved ELECTROBOY and your homage. Peace, Linda

    • August 31, 2009 3:20 pm

      Re: Beautiful…
      Thanks, Linda. It means a lot because you’re both a writer and a researcher on BPD. And a very cool person. πŸ™‚

  5. Anonymous permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:18 pm

    I love the shadowy faces behind the “I am”s. I didn’t see them at first. Cool!
    from Laura at Author Amok

    • September 2, 2009 3:45 am

      Thanks! In the end the masks ended up being pretty subtle. I think I like it. πŸ™‚

  6. September 3, 2009 12:15 pm

    Wow, I love the starburst of light and the chasm of dark–and the hope. I have a loved one with bipolar, and I’ve just put this book on reserve at the library. Thanks!

    • September 8, 2009 11:37 pm

      Hi Laura, I’m so glad you noticed the starburst of light as well as the chasm of dark–and hope. When I first envisioned this, I saw a burst of light on the right side even before I had the words for the original visual poem. I didn’t exactly know what it would mean–but put into the context–the dark chasm and hope (originally did not plan to use that word)–it’s made a lot more sense. πŸ™‚ I’d love to hear how you like Electroboy. There are many memoirs out there that are also great. Let me know if you would like any other names. πŸ™‚

      • September 9, 2009 6:38 pm

        I just got an email that Electroboy is waiting for me at the library–well, not in person! I’m looking forward to reading it. Maybe I’ll be back for more suggestions. I’ve read some–mostly older ones. Would like a few newer ones, especially ones appealing to and not devastating to a young adult with bipolar, so I could pass the best along…

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 8, 2009 10:20 pm

    Appreciation
    Hey Melissa-
    A little token of my admiration for your blog and writing awaits you on my blog. ;^)
    Peace, Linda

    • September 8, 2009 11:39 pm

      Re: Appreciation
      Wow, Linda. I started crying. You are so incredibly kind! Thank you. Congrats on your blog being in the 25 best writing blogs!!

Leave a Reply

