Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Mom!

July 9, 2009

Here’s a poem to celebrate my Mom’s birthday this week. The idea began with three images chosen intuitively for/about my mom from a stock photo site. The poem formed itself from these images, weaving the idea of each into the idea of a whole formed by transparent overlapping layers–something I actually did visually with the images by using a online edit imaging service. I then brought the layers of images together with the text of the poem and formed a birthday "card." Unfortunately, Live Journal doesn’t allow the dimensions of the original card to be posted on the journal page. So I have a smaller version–which, if clicked on, links to the original version. I’ve also included the text of the poem here on the journal page. Happy Birthday, Mom!! I love you. 
                                                  
                                                                                   
                                       

 

triptych

poppies in forgetful fields 

bow to ancient dreams. 

two suns tessellate to infinity

time and space cartography. 

to be held in human hands

is not for mortals alone;

stars break earth, become dirt, 

and roam–but only with wings

that fly–not up, but ‘round.

spheres spun of gossamer clay 

cradle nascent memory. 

the breeze sings poppies awake,

soaring suns to soothe the day. 

 

Poetry Friday is at Jama Rattigan’s Alphabet Soup this week. Check out all the wonderful poems shared there! 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 10, 2009 2:25 am

    triptych
    Thanks, Sweetie, for the poem and card. I believe that I was able to find the essence of its meaning after looking up a couple of the words that I was not familiar with. It is awesome imagery! We, the poppies are never forgotten, even when we are planted in what seems like a “forgetful field”. Even though the poem is about me in some ways, I believe it is about many “poppies” like me.
    Love you,
    Mom

    • July 10, 2009 12:59 pm

      Re: triptych
      I think you’re right. It’s about you (especially the sequence of the imagery in the layers, but also in how it’s all brought back together in a circular way) and what you’ve taught me and what I’ve seen in your life. But it’s also, I think, in many ways, about all of us making our way through this world. And no, we’re not forgotten–even if we sometimes forget. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love.

  2. July 10, 2009 12:58 pm

    Happy Birthday to your mom! Cool idea, forging a poem from the images. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 10, 2009 1:02 pm

    This is a beautiful poem. THe kind of gift your mom will treasure forever. Happy Birthday to her! and thanks for sharing this poem with all of us.

    • July 10, 2009 8:47 pm

      Thank you so much. I still have to remind myself that this isn’t the online equivalent of refrigerator art. Lol. Or maybe it is-but, if so, maybe it can still be treasured! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Anonymous permalink
    July 12, 2009 2:39 am

    Way cool of you, Melissa. Happy Belated Birthday, ‘Mom.’

  5. October 15, 2009 11:07 am

    What a gorgeous poem. I love the mood and images. And the word tesselate took me immediately to A Wrinkle in Time. These are my favorite lines:
    to be held in human hands
    is not for mortals alone;
    stars break earth, become dirt,
    Happy bday to your mom!

    • October 16, 2009 7:53 pm

      Thanks so much, Laura! Your favorite lines are also mine. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

