Skip to content

Clay Storms

June 5, 2009

It’s Poetry Friday, a tradition among some bloggers I’ve just recently learned about. Check out others’ poems (for this week) here: http://saralewisholmes.blogspot.com/2009/06/poetry-friday-i-used-to-think-universe.html

Here’s my contribution, a poem I wrote yesterday evening.

                                      Clay Storms 

                                              white 

               out 

               like 

               snow

               but grey-

               wall cloud tossed in the washer’s 

               dryer; jogging shoes hang

               electric black wires 

                       on ground stoned 

                       with ice;

               dreams

                 catch water spouts

                    raining sea gardens one

               sidewalk at a time until they

   sneeze time’s clothes from nature’s 

                        hands;

wind

blows 

  like

                           clay.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 6:41 pm

    Thanks for joining in today. Poetry Friday is a superb way to end a week, or kick-off a weekend. We had storms here last night too, but no dangling electric wires or ice. Just sound and fury. (Love your images, though.)

    • June 5, 2009 11:09 pm

      Thanks! I love the idea of Poetry Friday. I know I can’t do them every week, but I’m going to do as many as I can. Thanks so much for reading.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:47 pm

    Love the images but the form was a bit challenging on these old eyes. So much white space interrupted the flow for me. But oh, I am so impress with what you allowed me to see. Thank you.

    • June 5, 2009 11:17 pm

      Yeah, I’d never written in a form quite like this. I was trying to get the feel/form both of a tornado (two-the bottom of each funnel cloud touching at the center) and a tilted hourglass unraveling. I’m not happy with the rhythm and sound in parts of parts of it. I’ll be playing some more. 🙂 Thanks for the comment about the images. 🙂

  3. Anonymous permalink
    June 7, 2009 3:38 pm

    decatur
    Hello! I am here in Mableton, maybe we can hook up. cagedbird4u@yahoo.com
    http://www.evehall.com

  4. Anonymous permalink
    June 10, 2009 11:06 am

    thanks for the poem and poetry friday
    I didn’t know about poetry friday, so I may join in every now and then…
    Quite like the imagery, intrigued by the title. Some super lines “… on ground stoned with ice…” kept resonating. Methinks the layout works up until the end starting with hands. Thanks for putting up a bird’s eye of you. Peace, Linda

    • June 10, 2009 2:17 pm

      Re: thanks for the poem and poetry friday
      Thanks, Linda! Yeah, the end is hard and needs to be re-worked. I’ll be playing around with it some more if I decide to do anything with this one! I just found out about Poetry Friday. You don’t have to write your own-you can post a favorite or write an essay about one or about poetry writing, or whatever. I’m still learning-and trying to figure out how to find where it is each week! I’ll send you info. BTW-I read more of your novel over the weekend. Love it. More about that, too…Thanks for the comment!

  5. July 9, 2009 9:13 pm

    like the poem
    spacious yet grounded

  6. July 14, 2009 8:07 pm

    Thank you! That “feeling” is part of what I was after when writing it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

