Skip to content

Family Quilt

May 19, 2009

Thought of my Grandmom J while driving here (Dancing Goats) today.  I cannot begin to say how thankful I am for her being in my life. Time spent with her was magical because of her ability to love. She made the dark moments bearable.  Still does. I had to write this before I began reading for the diss today.  

Family Quilt

fabric swatches: wedding dresses

sheets   church shirts   suits 

pillowcases–collected 

for forty years.

holly hobby princess calico pieced

pins in mouth needle held to light

threads 

stray moments caught    in time

rescued for a newborn to feel–

redemption.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 6:43 pm

    I love this.

  2. May 22, 2009 4:30 am

    Thanks!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    May 23, 2009 4:48 am

    I like your poem. You don’t look old enough to have had a holly hobby doll or maybe I’m mistaking the reference. Either way, enjoyed this.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    May 23, 2009 4:50 am

    I’m anonymous. lol

    • May 23, 2009 7:31 pm

      You got the reference right. I’m old enough to remember holly hobby. (Thanks for the compliment. 🙂 But my grandmother actually made a quilt with holly hobby in the middle. I was thinking of that quilt when I wrote that particular line. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s one of those that just came…

  5. May 23, 2009 12:21 pm

    Thanks for the lovely poem!

Leave a Reply

