Skip to content

I did it! The end of the April Poem-A-Day Challenge

April 30, 2009

I did it!! I finished all the poems. Here are the last two. 

 
Same personal rules. 140 characters or less, and–write fast!!!

April 29
prompt: never “blank”

 

never believe open 

doors are the way out

unless you’ve slain 

the Minotaur and 

followed the labyrinthian 

thread further in,

further in.  

 

April 30 
prompt: farewell poem

 

“moat”

i dive down deep 

and hold my breath.

the inky darkness

i plow with 

choppy strokes.

as i crawl onto land,

castle walls disappear. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 15, 2009 10:35 pm

    I love your moat…
    Your poems have this mythic imagery I really like. Congrats on finishing – grueling, huh?
    Must be all that religion training ;^)
    I lived vicariously through dear hubbers MDiv and Phud. We need more spiritually-minded folks in this world… Peace, Linda

    • May 16, 2009 1:40 pm

      Re: I love your moat…
      Thanks! I think I’m drawn to that type of imagery naturally and have been since a kid–if not myths we know from history, what “feels” mythical (appeals to the collective unconscious?–although maybe there is nothing new under the sun…).
      Wow–you went through all that education with your husband? That can be rough on a significant other, at least at times. But you understand much more than most how hard it is to do. (Some people seem to think a Ph.D. is some type of hobby or vacation!)

Leave a Reply

