Skip to content

I’m back–April Poem-A-Day Challenge

April 28, 2009

So I didn’t really write any poetry over the weekend. I wrote, just not poetry. So, of course, it’s catch up time again. I’m happy to say I am fully caught up and ready for tomorrow’s prompt.

On Sunday my writing group talked about how vulnerable it feels to post our work. We meant for each other, but for me it includes this blog as well. I assume there is next to no one reading, which makes me feel safe. To take risks–like posting poems that are exercises, quickly done–feels really risky if they are taken to be finished work instead of sketches. There are some poems I may develop into something more, but, well–I doubt it. I don’t see these that way. They are like playing scales on the piano. But more fun.

 Same rules: 140 characters or less, and–go for speed. 

April 25 
prompt: pick an event and make it title of poem

“Wedding Day”

eyes meet.

hands join. then–

preacher: “kiss.”

photographer: “smile!” 

coordinator: “stand here.”

videographer: “act naturally.” 

 

director: “cut!”

 

April 26 
prompt: poem involving miscommunication

he sings the ode to sunlight, 

feathers roughened by the storm; 

she hears the alarm to awake, 

pulls on rubber boots,

runs quickly out the door. 

 

April 27
prompt: poem of longing

cell walls evaporate

with one finger’s touch;

so the flight to fantasy

tethers identities,

my secret need 

to make us 

one.

 

 

April 28
prompt: sestina or poem about writing one

 

to the cantina 

to write a sestina 

six having sex

each becomes ex

but willing to make up 

in the end. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 4:35 pm

    April 26!
    What were you eating on Sunday?? The April 26 poem reads like it was inevitable. No kidding: it coheres wonderfully, as if “experience” just woke up one morning as “words.” I wouldn’t call that one just practice…

    • May 1, 2009 6:09 pm

      Re: April 26!
      Thank you. And experience did write this one…
      The poem did come out rather easily–the first two lines running through my head immediately as well as the idea about the girl. The biggest struggle was with whether I should include an “and” in the last line. For some reason, in writing it that fast, I felt the poem was more like prose and needed those types of conjunctions. I read it now and say–what?? I knew then it would throw the rhythm off, but felt somehow it might still be needed…Obviously I chose the right thing and left it out.

Leave a Reply

